Bowflex TreadClimber Customer Feedback

by Anonymous

UPDATE: Please note that the following reviews are on older TreadClimber models. The newest ones, the TC100 and TC200, have received very positive reviews thus far as the company has made many improvements.

Read our latest reviews here.

See the latest models at special sale prices here.





My comment about Bowflex Treadclimbers is also one I left in another area. It is the way I feel about them and the other comment gave it five stars by accident. If that happens here after I leave this it is another accident.

I give any Teadclimber a negative ZERO -0. Beware of them and don't get taken for a ride like me. They are unreliable and bad news.

I know for a fact it was the machine. I have had two Bowflex treadclimbers and they both burned up.

Bowflex replaced the first one but the second time they claimed it was my fault. It was not the tech who put mine together told me it was in good shape brand new and should give me years of good service. then a year later it burned up like the first one.

I have found out later, that they are over priced and over rated. They work but have no durability. I was lead to believe mine had a commercial grade motor but it didn't. It is a home rated machine as all treadclimbers.

Home rated is sneaky Bowflex double talk for not durable enough for everyday use. I was told by Bowflex if you use it more than five hours a week it is heavy use. A commercial grade motor could take more use than that with no strain at all.

All the machine is is a piece of junk, I would buy a commercial treadmill with a 12% grade and 12 mile per hour speed rating. I have one now and you know what?

I spent a heck of a lot less on that commercial machine I have a lifetime guarantee on the motor and many bells and whistles the stupid treadclimber has none of at a higher price.

Bowflex treadclimbers are a bunch of crap. Get yourself a good machine. I'd stay away from the crappy treadclimber.

You will burn the same amount of calories if not more on a treadmill that has a high grade and goes fast. Even walking at 12% grade beats the crap out of the Bowflex calorie burn.

Think about it. I have had my say now I am gone.

Comments for Bowflex TreadClimber Customer Feedback

Click here to add your own comments

BOWFLEX Warranty Replacement Beware
by: Anonymous

Purchased BOWFLEX TC100, no issues for 6 months. Then the PAUSE/STOP on console stopped working.

The only way to stop the machine was pull the safety key. Called BOWFLEX, the machine was in warranty. BOWFLEX sent the console assembly without any instructions.

Nothing on the Internet on how to replace. It took hours to figure it out. It is very difficult to take apart and replace.

It would have been much easier if BOWFLEX customer support would have sent a new console. Beware of BOWFLEX customer support.

They seem to tell you one thing and do something else different.

Tc100
by: Anonymous

Don't I repeat dont waste your 💰 money. I purchased this machine in August of 2017 and 6 months later i have had work done on it four times the entire bottom of the machine.now the shocks are banging making loud noises.

I had the older model tc500 in 2007 and it just broke down after 10 years. That is why i purchased another but the quality is gone.all they are interested in is getting your money not giving you a quality machine for 2000 dollars so you have been warned buy something else😢😢😢

It's worked great for me so far
by: Anonymous

Have a TC100 for about 2 months so far, use it twice a day and it's been working fantastic.

I see many people not satisfied here with the older models and that makes me very happy that I waited until these newer models were released. The only issue I've noticed is you have to tweak the screws at the front initially workout to workout to get the belt to the right tension to not slip.

The places to do so though are easy accessible and the way to do it is easy to perform and plainly explained in the manual. I have not dropped a ton of weight but have instead been transferring my weight from fat to muscle and have noticed a huge improvement in my lower body strength and my feet hurt less.

I feel my stride was a bit off pretty much my entire life. I never put two and two together but I've always had a lot of foot and shin pain using after long walks, runs or using other mills.

The dual treads of this machine force you to walk correctly in the right foot position.

It took a couple weeks for my legs to get used to it but I have noticed a lot of my habitually occurring pain has went away. Now when I start to feel it I jump on this thing for a bit and it really helps it go away.

Bad shocks on TreadClimber
by: Anonymous

Bought a Treadclimber last spring, use it for 30 minutes twice a day. Get good results on weight loss and inches lost.

But have gone through about 6 pairs of defective shocks.I have had shocks on 2 occasions leak oil all over the floor.Good thing it wasn’t on carpet.

What the heck is wrong with this company!!!!! Shocks are not new technology!!!!!Very upset with this machine.

Bowflex makes poor quality w/no support
by: Rob M.

I purchased a Bowflex TC100 dec 2015. Assembled it and it worked ok for 3 weeks. Tried to contact bowflex but their hours are limited for phone service.

Email website has NO support. Junk junk junk. Don't feed this sham of a company. Better buy from overseas.

This is why we expect more, dont kid yourselves if you make a piece of inferior equipment you ruin your company and your livelihood to the world.

Vote for social income thats what you deserve.

Do pistons/shocks have to be set the same?
by: Anonymous

Do my pistons/shocks have to be set the same or will it be okay to have them at different numbers?

Good idea
by: Anonymous

It is a shame that the company did not use top engineers and quality parts and build a good machine.

What a wonderful idea but in the end it is just another piece of Chinese junk. After reading the reviews I would not think about buying one of these.

The motors burn up and the shocks go bad. From what I have read the company will tell you it is your fault when something breaks. With this machine it s going to break. It is just a matter of when. I am surprised this company is still in business.

Another thing to consider. When this company does fold up and it will with their bad product you won't be able to get parts.

The only good thing is that for me it is the best design in the treadmill industry. What a waste.

Chinese junk
by: Anonymous

I wanted to buy one of these but after reading the reviews and finding they are made in China with who knows what kind of parts I backed off.

I feel sorry for people that did purchase one of these machines. Now I would not take one if it was giving to me for free. Two choices. You would be able to say I have a tread climber but it doesn't work of find a way to junk it.

People need to get together and file a giant lawsuit against this company. Make them get their act together and build a quality machine or get out of the business and stop ripping people off. It is getting to point that I don't believe in any product.

Bottom line beware of anything you buy nowdays.

TreadClimber Shuts Down
by: Anonymous

I also have a TreadClimber that is also a piece of junk. It shuts down mid workout for no reason.

The safety shut off just kicks in and almost knocks me off my feet it stops so quick. I would never buy one of these again.

Bowflex TC 20
by: JR

OK, here's my comment. I initially had the TC 5000. However, it would suddenly stop when i work up a good sweat. Just simply stop in the middle. i would have to reboot and loose all my information.

It appears to only stop when I work up the perspiration. I surmised something was getting wet below causing the issue. it never stopped doing it. I simply took extra measures to avoid excessive sweating i.e. fans, many towels, sweatbands. For years that worked.

I finally got rid of the TC 5000 due to age and rust.
Upgraded to tc 20, would you believe the exact same issue. Can't send it back as i bought it from a private party but it was still in the box.

I am so upset... that's it for me. very disappointed in this line of products.

Treadclimber
by: Anonymous

I got mine together yesterday. I could only do ten minutes the first time. I hope this gets easier..I am not looking forward to it breaking.

Can you adjust the levels?

Amazing Machine
by: NH consumer

I love my TreadClimber. I have been obese my whole life. I purchased the treadclimber 6 years ago as a last ditch effort to lose weight.

At the time i weighed more than 300 pounds. I started out on it the day I got it and it kicked my butt. I could only manage 5 minutes on it. I stuck with it though and over the next 2 years I lost 150 pounds.

I am beyond greatful to Bowflex for this amazing machine. It is the only machine that Ive used that has ever worked.

I've always had mine plugged into a surge protector and never had any issues with it.

Surprised at all the bad reviews!
by: Anonymous

I too purchased a TC20 as I wanted the walking work-out even in the dead of Winter.

It came in several large heavy boxes, but I knew from placing the order what to expect, so no shock there.

I'm a former equipment mechanic, so setup was on me. It was neither quick or simple, but if you can read & turn a screwdriver, it was do-able. I suspect some of the issues mentioned are a result of poor assembly,(pinched wires) as well as some bad (LAZY) Engineers who designed it.

If you can't work on your own car, you should pay the $350.00 for setup. (I don't see Toyota reviews where customers bitch about how tough they are to work on)

Our unit runs perfectly, and it gets used every day by several folks, including a 250 lb. man.

We've had it for almost 5 months, and we love it. I'm sorry for the buyers who had problems, and no longer have one. When they work, they really are great.

You folks are wrong :)
by: Earl Allen

I bought a TC-3000 used for $800 and use it every morning for 30 minutes.

It's an awesome cardio work out for a person in their mid fifties. It usage took a little getting used to, but most new mechanical things do.

I certainly cannot complain about having to push the start button and set the levels! Morons. I bought a can of silicon spray lube and use it sparingly and mine his totally trouble-free.

My only complaint is I cannot find a place to tell me how to adjust or reset the shocks. I believe someone may have spun the adjustment knob with the top not being connected and spun the entire inside.

The tension does not match each other when set on a particular number. I'm going to try and disconnect them and spin the entire shock within the body to see if that changes the tension.

BOWFLEX 3000
by: Margaret

Everyone has said the same thing that I have experienced.

My Bowflex 3000 stops in the middle of EVERY workout after 15 min.; when I re-power, it stops after 2 minutes.

It is very frustrating to start to exercise and then have your EQUIPMENT stop your workout.

Bowflex Treadclimber
by: grateful

Thanks to everyone's reviews before I purchased this costly machine. I was diagnosed with Lupus 4 years ago and have gained a substantial amount of weight.

Due to the the effects of the disease I have been looking to find anything that can help me lose the weight without having a rigorous daily workout.

So thank you for your honesty, my Dr. bills are costly enough without making a terrible investment on this machine.

Disappointing Feedback
by: Anonymous

Thanks to all the people who spent the time to review this equipment.

I was just about to purchase this P.O.S. Not any more!!!!

TC20
by: Disappointed

I purchased a TC20 about a month ago. I really enjoyed using it until one of the shocks went bad. They sent me another shock I put it on and with less than an hour of walking on it, the one they sent has gone bad too.

Now I have to pay about $500 to send it back. They offered to send a third shock, I refused the offer because I don't want to be stuck with a broken machine once the warranty has expired.

I will lose $500 but I think in the long run I will save money not buying replacement shocks. I will buy a treadmill set the incline to 3 or 4 and walk on it.

The machine didn't work out, but their customer service is outstanding.

I agree totally
by: etta

I wish I had read this comment before I shelled out almost $4,000.00 to get the Treadclimber TC20. It has proven to be a peace of junk. Two weeks after I started using mine, the machine would stop during my workout. Stop. Just like that. I called Bowflex and the double speak started. In the end, the explanation was that one part of the machine was not communicating with the other. Bowflex kept sending different parts for replacement -- the motherboard was replaced twice; the part at the top (I forget what they call it) was replaced three times. Each time, after a couple of weeks use, the problem would occur again. I am a fit person and I used the machine daily, sometimes for 30 minutes, sometimes for an hour, depending on how much time I had in the morning. Any case, eventually, Bowflex replaced the machine. The new machine was installed a week and a half ago. I started using it every day for 30 minutes at 3.5 miles an hour. Today, I wanted to use it for an hour. What do you know? After 45 minutes, it stopped mid exercise. So, I am facing the reality that I just threw my money away. IT HURTS!!! Really, really does.

Worst investment
by: Anonymous

Wow!! What a disappointment after paying over $2,000.00:

a) The deck cracked after 1 month (neither of us are over 180 lbs.
b) Nautilus sends you new decks. You have to install them yourself!
c) The treads are shredding along one side and even pieces falling off. My honey sits in front and turns the screws to be sure the treads are in the middle of the walking deck.
d) Nautilus sends you new treads. You have to install them yourself.
Seriously!! We are both in our 70s and it's not a project we'd like to take on. $2000.00 and we have to repair our own machine 2 months after we purchased it.
Wow, I should have gone to Sears or Costco and purchased a plain treadmill for a LOT LESS MONEY and not have to worry about repairing the unit myself.
I purchased the TC10.
Thank goodness I didn't spend thousands more on the Top-of-the-line.

Worst Health investment EVER!!
by: Anonymous

I purchased the TC5500 series in May 2011 for weight loss and physical exercise for me and my son.

We actually believed everything that was advertised every 5 minutes on the T.V.:"only 30 minutes 3 times a week and you'll lose weight, all you have to do is walk". What a bunch of BS!
They never talked about size or weight limits when I was considering my purchase....after all, isn't that their target demographic? Overweight people!!!

My husband is a general contractor who builds for a living, and even putting this machine together tested his patience. Within using the machine just twice, the treadles locked up, and my minor son ending up being jolted, and chipped his front tooth. He had just gotten his braces off, and now we had to go to the dentist to have his $5,000.00 straight smile fixed.

I called Treadclimber immediately; they sent new treadles, as well as the rep they hire to set the machine up. The rep even commented about the amount of trouble-calls the Treadclimbers have.
He also said the treadles were defective.

We've had the motor-board replaced once, and are again having problems with the machine shutting down after 15 minutes of use...the new motorboard isn't even a year old!!

We lube it religiously, and it is only used 3 times/week by one person!

I called Treadclimber again last night, and was given the run around..." just have your son walk 10 minutes at a time, you might want to invest in a personal trainer for weight loss" and a bunch of his own personal experience by him and his wife about their weight loss journey, but no customer service whatsoever.

Quite frankly, I've had enough, and am thinking about filing a lawsuit similar to the one the woman filed against Nutella for saying their hazelnut spread was nutritious....she actually won a huge award, and sent a message to companies who false advertise to promote their crap.

I WOULD NEVER BY THIS MACHINE AGAIN!!

Treadclimber
by: Anonymous

I have read a lot of negative reviews about the Treadclimber. However, no one ever states how much the machine costs. Does the 60 day guarantee they give for home use really apply? Do they set it up and break it down if you want to return it? I would really appreciate finding out about this part of the purchase.

Pay a Little Extra for In-Home Assembly
by: Nan

I bought my Treadclimber last December and for the most part it has worked great. I just had a tech out to take it apart and put it upstairs for me - but the next day when I got on the machine the left shock gave way within 7 minutes of use. This stinks because I am remodeling my home and the Treadclimber was trapped at the back of a room full of furniture for like 2 months - I used it religiously 1 hour a day before then and I was looking forward to using it again, but then the shock broke. :-( Obviously when the tech took it apart and put it back together again he did something wrong. So Bowflex is sending a replacement shock and another tech will be out... here is my complaint.

Nautilus uses a company called GoConfigure to put the machine together. The guy who originally came out was great. But this most recent appointment (for which I paid $179) was a joke. It took almost two weeks from payment to get an appointment. And in that time GoConfigure kept leaving random messages on my voicemail confirming these phantom appt times that they set with NO ONE! I had to keep calling like WTH is going on? Try calling me first! I told them half a dozen times when I was available but they never seemed to take the hint and kept trying to schedule the appt while I was at work... finally I just used my lunch break to meet the guy... and now I have that to look forward to again.

As for the complaints below - I notice one common denominator - seems like no one sprung the extra few bucks to pay for someone to put the machine together when they first got it... and now it's not working right. Surprise, surprise. It's a complicated machine - I'm pretty sure these techs were trained to put it together - what makes someone think they can just put it together themselves without training? Just pay the extra fee and save yourself the headache.

BBB Can Help
by: Anonymous

I appreciate the fact that you folks took the time to write these complaints for those of us who haven't yet decided to buy a Treadclimber. My husband & I were intending to by a TC10 Treadclimber but I am not so sure now. However, I would like to suggest that if you haven't already filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau online that you should do so.

I have always used bbb.org to check out companies before I do business with them & when I did have a $4500 issue I filed a complaint & got a rapid positive response from the company I complained about. You can file complaints on any company even if they are not BBB accredited members & the Better Business Bureau will contact them about the complaint & track the results.

Thanks again & good luck to you all.

Too Heavy
by: Anonymous

I love my TreadClimber, but man are they heavy!

Thank you for this website
by: Anonymous

We were considering buying a TC20 priced at $3299. We checked the BBB website and nothing came up. Then we googled reviews and received this website. We're very glad we researched this product first. It saved us from making what could be a VERY BAD investment. We'll stick with the gym. :-)

What a Nightmare!
by: Over It

I received a damaged machine that is too heavy to get in the door alone. The instructions manual is a joke. They do not tell you that part #10, the hardware card, is already built into the panel. They tell you that part #13 is a Treadle Support Block, turns out it is just a part of the shipping and cardboard in the box, not a part. I finally got the thing built to find out that a sensor near the right wheel on back came loose during shipping and needed to be replaced, so I had to take part of the machine apart again. Now the treadles are hitting the bottom of the machine as soon as I pick up speed, so they told me that the easiest plan was to send another whole huge box with another treadle portion to put together. I called and asked what I am to do with the first one they sent, because no trashman can pick the thing up. They have no reply. This is a nightmare, I hate the machine at this point, absolutely wish I never ordered this "thing" and probably will not even pay for it, what a joke.

Bowflex Treadclimber
by: Anonymous

The Boflex Treadclimber is a headache.

1.) The machine will only start using a plastic "key" (peg) . Yah yah a "safety" feature.

2.) To start the machine you have to insert the peg and turn on the machine but that is just the beginning. Next you must enter your weight, each and EVERY time you attempt to use this machine. Then you must select the level. Next you have to REPEATEDLY push the start button and all the while seconds are being counted , probably 20-30 before the belts start moving.

3.) The machine sounds like sneakers in a clothes dryer when in use.

4.) In my case , after the initial startup, the machine stops EVERY time at EXACTLY 32 minutes.

YES I have recalibrated it. Yes, I have used the lubricant on it.

But NOTHING and I mean ABSOLUTELY nothing has worked to stop it from a sudden , nearly spine snapping shutdown at exactly 32 minutes after starting.

5.) When I restart the machine after the initial shut down, it runs for exactly 2 minutes and shuts down again.

6.) This is repeated if I try to restart the machine for a third or fourth attempt . A nearly spine snapping sudden shutdown at exactly 2 minutes.

7.) At each start up I must recalibrate by entering my weight. It will not run unless I do and that includes the 2 minute runs listed above.

This machine is the WORST piece of home exercise equipment I have ever purchased.

I have tried customer service but the technicians are snooty and NOT helpful AT ALL. Their solutions DO NOT WORK!

This has been going on for 3 years.

Someone asked why I had not returned it, it was under warranty. Have you ever opened a box containing a large piece of exercise equipment? How many people can open one of those boxes and remove the machine without totally destroying the box? I venture say very few.

Even if I had the box or replaced it while it was under warranty I doubt I could have disassembled it and gotten it into any box and I certainly do have the strength to lug it out of my house and into a car, assuming it would it fit. Then take it to be weighed and shipped. Logistically, I could not pull this off.

I had a WALMART cheapy elliptical that worked better and was easier to operate than the Bowflex Treadclimber. I wish I had not given that away and I dearly wish I had never heard of the Bowflex Treadclimber.



Don't Buy the Bowflex TreadClimber TC20
by: Anonymous

My Bowflex TreadClimber TC20 broke down after three weeks of use. A replacement shock was needed. Seemed like an easy fix. I've been informed that my replacement part will ship on April 28.

Did I mention that it was ordered in January? Don't buy Bowflex. I can't understand why such a simple part is unavailable, unless they're no longer making the TC20, in which case, no replacement parts will be available in the future.

Hate this machine
by: Anonymous

I just received my Treadclimber and I am extremely disappointed with the structure and the service provided by Bowflex. I had to hire someone to assemble the machine because it was too big of a task for me and unless it wasn't assembled properly, the digital screens are not easy to read in a dark room. I called them, and waiting online for 15 minutes even though the recorder says: "there are no callers ahead of you". I was told I would get the machine within 10 days (I am from Canada) and I ordered the machine on January 3rd and received it on February 10th. All in all I totally regret buying this machine and because it would cost me $300 to send it back + I paid $125 to have it assembled, and I would have to have it disassembled, it is not worth sending back, but be aware, you will be disappointed.

BOWLFLEX - HORRIBLE CUSTUMER SERVICE + DAMAGED PRODUCTS
by: Alex Rodrigues

I’m writing this about the Bowflex Treadclimber TC5 that I bought.

I bought the TC5, and like other customers, I received a damaged machine!

I called customer service, waited for more than 30 minutes to get an agent, and after saying that I don’t want a replacement part because I don’t want to got through another 4 hours of assembling the “thing”, or getting another defective part (as other people have reported) I was told that I have to wait for at least 5 business days to see if they will approve the return or not!! Or that I could return it and pay for it myself!

I Could not believe it! WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!

Also, my machine makes a loud banging noise.
I recommend people not buy this machine.

Now finally Nautilus approved the return of the damaged TC5 that I received. However, they will not send me a return label that will allow FEDEX to pick up the boxes at my house , as it was delivered!!

Can you believe that? I’ll have to carry almost 200lbs to a FEDEX store? This is so ridiculous and outrageous! If they delivered it to my door, why not pick it up at my door? How much more this would cost to Bowlflex? I think they do this in the hope that the customers will give up to return it, since it will cost a lot of money to make private arrangements to have this picked up and taken to a FEDEX store.

I’m totally disappointed and frustrated with my experience with Nautilus-Bowflex. I’ll do all I can to publicise the horrible ways that Nautilus customers are subject to.

Thank you for the space you provide here so customers like us can expose the horrible side of some companies.

Treadclimber starts smoking after 20 minutes
by: Anonymous

Twenty minutes into my workout my Treadclimber starts producing a burning smell. They have sent me a new motor when it was still under warranty and it did the same thing. I have replaced the "board" and have kept up all of the maintenance as suggested in the owners manual. This machine is a piece of junk and I would never recommend this product to anyone. I would tell them to go join a health club!

Bowflex TreadClimber TC1000
by: Anonymous

I purchased the Treadclimber in December. The Treadclimber was very bulky but was fairly easy to assemble. However, once assembled the Treadclimber would work until the slightest touch of the screen. It would stop if you placed a water bottle in the cup holder or the slightest jog of the top panel. It has been three weeks and I have been waiting for replacement parts and I will have to reassenble the parts myself. This machine is very expensive and from what I hear it does not last long. In order for me to return it I must pay shipping which would cost close to the amount I paid for the actual machine. The warranty is terrible as well. Customer serice is a joke. Each time I have called I have been on the phone for over an hour!

No issues here
by: Anonymous

I have owned a Treadclimber for years and have never experienced an issue.

Bad Machine?
by: Lawmantoo

Based upon the complaints from previous purchasers and the fact that Bowflex pulled all their commercial units from the gyms, I am convinced that my purchase of a machine would be a poor if not a risky investment. Bowflex should fix their problems, fire the engineer who sized the motor and move on.

Hydraulic Cylinder Failure
by: Dave

My neighbor gave me his 2008 TreadClimber because he couldn't adjust to it. I used it daily for about a week, then oil poured out of the H. Cylinders. I purchased a new pair of shocks, and they were defective. They sent another pair, and again were defective. The next shipment is supposed to be tested prior to shipping, so maybe they will work. When I installed the new shocks, the pedals went to the floor. I enjoyed the TreadClimber for a week and hopefully I will get more enjoyment. But after reading the negative remarks, I may have to throw it out.

Bowflex TreadClimber TC3000
by: keith hanchett

The Bowflex TreadClimber TC3000 and Bowflex customer service is garbage.

My machine quit working, I did the diagnostic as described in the owner manual. I told the so-called support staff that the machine was in a dry environment, that there was no corrosion. I also asked if there was a fuse in the system. The tec then told me she was sending a new board and cables for a total of $206.96.

The new board and cables arrived in five days. I upacked the box and noticed that the board did indeed have a fuse. I pulled the fuse out of the new board and placed it in the existing board and the machine powered right up.

I called Bowflex and asked why they would not just send the fuse, I was told that it was proprietary and that it was also a saftey issue of replacing the fuse. It was much easier to replace the whole board. What a crock. Bad equipment, bad company.

Click here to add your own comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex Treadclimber TC3000 Gives Me the Workout I Wanted

by Rick Jeannotte

I purchased the Bowflex Treadclimber TC3000 in July of 2009 after seeing the Bowflex ad on TV.

I was impressed with the potential of this machine. I assembled the machine without any major problems. I used it for two months until one day while exercising it came to a sudden stop nearly throwing me off the machine.

I called the Bowflex customer service line. They were helpful and courteous and had me go through a bunch of tests but to no avail.

After a couple of hours on the phone they decided to ship me a new set of wires connecting the console to the Treadclimber TC3000's main board at the back. Got the wires 5 days later and installed them but not without a lot of problems because it required disassembly of the unit.

Once installed I re-calibrated the machine and got on it for a workout. 5 minutes later another sudden stop but this time I had braced myself anticipating the possibility.

Called back Bowflex customer service, this time I spoke with a different lady. She had me do all kinds of different tests which required me to dissassemble parts and we were on the phone for another hour and a half again to no avail.

She finally decided that I needed a new electronics board for the Treadclimber TC3000 and that she would ship it to me. I took pictures from different angles of the old board so that I would remember how to re-connect all the wires.

The board arrived 5 days later, I installed it (2 hours of work) re-calibrated the machine and got on it for a workout. It worked fine and has since that day.

I called back customer service and informed them of my success. I keep my fingers crossed that nothing else will go wrong with this machine because I love exercising on it. The Bowflex Treadclimber TC3000 gives me the workout that I always wanted just like they claimed in their ad.

There you have it. One last thing, I noticed that the components on the new electronics board they shipped me seem to be bigger and sturdier.

So this begs the question, why doesn't Bowflex install these new boards in their machines instead of having us go through this hassle...???

Comments for Bowflex Treadclimber TC3000 Gives Me the Workout I Wanted

Click here to add your own comments

Treadclimber weight loss?
by: Anonymous

I have been walking 30 min 5 times a week . Have not lost a pound yet walking now 11 weeks...

When should I lose ?????

TreadClimber T3000 weighing in
by: Anonymous

RUN FOR THE HILLS!!!!

This is the last time I try to contact this company. Here's a quick synopsis of the horror story that is this company. 2 months ago I was told by Nautilus to contact a company called Go Configure to repair my treadclimber.

1. Nautilus originally told my the problem was the circuit board. I paid $150 for a circuit board, installed it myself and it did not resolve the problem.

2. After troubleshooting on the phone with them for 2.5 hours they then said it was not the circuit board, but the motor. Had to spend another $180 on the motor.

3. Soonest they could have a tech come in was 3 weeks later. Tech shows up that day, installs only the motor and walks out of my house leaving the rest of the machine in pieces. See attached photo.

4. After about 20 more phone calls they say they are sorry for what happed and will have another tech come out 3 weeks from now.(coincidently on the day my wife is supposed to give birth to our first son-no joke.

I tell them that and they ask if my wife can deliver the baby on another day so it doesn't conflict with the techs installation appointment. SPEECHLESS

Click here to add your own comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex TreadClimber TC3000 - Machine Quit Working

by Keith Hanchett

The Bowflex TreadClimber TC3000 and Bowflex customer service is garbage.

My machine quit working, I did the diagnostic as described in the owner manual. I told the so-called support staff that the machine was in a dry environment, that there was no corrosion. I also asked if there was a fuse in the system. The tech then told me she was sending a new board and cables for a total of $206.96.

The new board and cables arrived in five days. I upacked the box and noticed that the board did indeed have a fuse. I pulled the fuse out of the new board and placed it in the existing board and the machine powered right up.

I called Bowflex and asked why they would not just send the fuse, I was told that it was proprietary and that it was also a saftey issue of replacing the fuse.

It was much easier to replace the whole board. What a crock. Bad equipment, bad company.

Comments for Bowflex TreadClimber TC3000 - Machine Quit Working

Click here to add your own comments

TreadClimber Machine quit working
by: natty

This machine sucks. We bought it 5 years ago and after 2 years it quit. I called the customer service and she told me to adjust something but after how several uses, it quit again.

Now this expensive machine is sitting in my attic. I wish the company would buy it back. I will sell them for $500 just t o get rid of it. I bought it for $3000.00.

Treadclimber Bowflex TC10
by: cindy lamb

I have the tc10 purchased in july 2013 thinks its a great machine but at 72 should have known better then buy. They are pricey my price over $2400 with shipping, and put together anyone looking for a good deal $1000.

This Machine SUCKS
by: Anonymous

Hi,

I bought my machine in February 2011. I HATE this machine. I live in Canada, so I had it shipped and I paid $125 to have it assembled and the light in the Dash is very dim you can barely see the numbers. The machine now won't close when you press Stop, you have to unplug it. It is very heavy and I wanted to send it back, but it would cost me to have it disassembled and $500 to ship it back. I told all my co-workers to NEVER buy from Bowflex. The customer service sucks, they don't know anything and you are basically stuck with it for life. I am sorry I didn't see all the reviews before buying it, because I would never have done so. PLEASE stay away from that machine.

I'm glad I checked.
by: Anonymous

Thank goodness for the internet. I'm in the service buisness. I get it, stuff breaks. But for a company, it is how you respond that is important. That being said, how can you continually sell a product with a known problem? My wife and I are shopping for a home gym. We are glad there are sites like this. In consumer comments, you can usually weed out the good and bad, but to have all bad, that is scary!

Click here to add your own comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex TreadClimber TC5000 User Review

by Debbie
(Hanover, Mass)

We paid $2400.00 for the Bowflex TreadClimber TC5000, after 10 months of use it broke down.

We called the company, under the opinion somebody would come out to repair it.

Well weren't we surprised. Bowflex sent us some wire that we had to disassemble the machine to replace, it didn't fix the problem.

We had waited 10 days for a part that was not needed, again called the company to be told they would send us a new board that "just plugged in".

We waited another week for "an expedited part". The part does not "just plug in", now 3 hours later the TreadClimber is totally disassembled again.

I would NEVER EVER consider buying another BOWFLEX PRODUCT. Considering the money spent and the lack of time it was owned, I would expect home repair service.

We previously paid $600 for a treadmill that we got 3 years out of. I will never listen to people saying you need to spend money to get a good product.

The kicker is that the results are no better than a treadmill. It's okay for cardio but I don't think you'll lose any more weight on the Bowflex TreadClimber TC5000 than on any other piece of equipment!

Comments for Bowflex TreadClimber TC5000 User Review

Click here to add your own comments

Thankyou
by: Anonymous

Thanks everyone for your comments. Based on all my research and reviews I will not be purchasing a BOWFLEX PERIOD!!!!

Bowflex TreadClimber 5500 - Decision to Buy in Progress
by: Emmanuel (Bowie, MD)

Folks,

These reviews and evaluations are very serious, pathetic and of great concern. I doff my hat for all your frustration - anyone whose excitement has been killed by dysfunctional systems will very much understand what you guys and gals have gone through with these fitness machines.

Due to accident and therapuetic sessions I am undergoing, I am expediting my decision to acquire one of these machines - especially the TC5500 such that at the end of my therapy sessions, I will continue on my healing process with the exercise machine. But with what I have read here, I am confused as to what to buy. Please, your honest advice and equipment suggestions will be highly appreciated.

Even without reading these reviews, I had already developed some uncomfortability with the choice of machine - the Bowflex machines, because, in my region or elsewhere, I cannot see the Bowflex products in stores and gyms to test-exercise before buying it. Testing equipment of such astronomical cost before buying it is critical as a purchasing determinant factor.

Click here to add your own comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex Treadclimber TC5500 Motor Problems

by Gary Callen
(Chiloquin, Oregon)

I bought my Bowflex Treadclimber TC5500 from a very nice young lady who realized after it arrived her house was actually too small for it.

For a few months she tried to live with her new TC5500, but after she started having motor problems she decided to sell it.

I was the sucker born at the correct minute for this Bowflex machine.

I bought it, took it home, and tried it, sorta. The next day the motor went out. Now I knew why she had that other huge box. It seems for a bad motor you get the entire treadle assembly. I exchanged motors, and the Treadclimber ran perfect for another month. Now, again the motor is out.

A call to Bowflex customer service enlightened me to the fact that their much touted warranty is only good for the original purchaser!!

Two motors going out so quickly tells me they not only have a motor problem, they have a KNOWN motor problem. Knowing this problem, and continuing to sell this defected machine is FRAUD!

We should all ban together to form a class action lawsuit!!!!!

Comments for Bowflex Treadclimber TC5500 Motor Problems

Click here to add your own comments

Tread climber 5500 thoughts
by: Anonymous

Tread "clamor" 5500 this is the biggest piece of junk I have about my life and paid a lot of money for it if you are reading this do not buy.

The TreadClimber goes into shutdown mode all the time have to wait 60 minutes before you can start working out again do not buy this machine a piece of junk we definitely need a lawsuit against tread climber bow flex.

Bowflex Treadclimber TC5500 Problems
by: Anonymous

My TC5500 arrived,I was very excited because I am recovering from a motorcycle accident. I started having problems from the start, treads would hang-up, motor would stop and on and on. I called Bowflex and they sent someone out to take a look, they found that the first tech had put the thing together wrong.

After that the machine worked great for about four months and then it started the same old problems.

I called Bowflex, they said that I needed to saturate the belts with the lubrication oil. Although my machine is fairly new and I have had problems from the start, Bowflex said they would send me a Lub-kit,if the motor is bad they would replace it but I would have to install the motor.
WHAT A PIECE OF JUNK !!!!

Bowflex Treadclimber TC5500 Dud
by: Arthur Black

I purchased a Bowflex TC5500 in June 2010. I paid $3808.24 cash. Setup cost $250.00 more.

Before purchasing the Bowflex I was using a 10 year old Landice treadmill. It never gave me any problems of any kind. I used it 45 - 60 minutes for 4 - 5 days per week.

Right after setup, I could barely exercise on the Bowflex TC5500 10 minutes in the elliptical mode.

The dashpot tension settings were the same regardless of being on 1 or 12. I replaced the dashpots and the exercise difficulties remained the same. I can use the treadmill mode ok without much effort.

However, usage in any mode is dangerous if you are not careful in exact foot placement on the treadmill belt. There is the problem of the foot coming in contact with the stationary middle and the moving belt at the same time, which causes unbalance and the potential of falling.

This is the ease of use advertised? I can listen to music, read a book, or watch TV with any other kind of treadmill or exercise equipment.

I have approximately 50 hours walking on this machine and now there is an overload error and it shuts down.

I have not obtained any of the expected and hyped benefits advertised by Nautilus for this machine. It is overpriced, an exercise dud and dangerous to use.

I would say that a class action suit is needed to address all of the unfulfilled promises and wasted time and money spent on this dud.

Call for class action lawsuit against Bowflex
by: Anonymous

I agree we need a class action lawsuit.

I am a disabled vet with arthritis in my spine and bursitis in both hips. I also have a pinched nerve in my left hip and a pain disorder as well as an allergy to all non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medication. Basically I can barely move and hurt a lot when I do.

I bought my Treadmill in Aug of 2010 and now, in Feb of 2012 I have put just 120 hours on the machine.

At 90+ hours I had to replace the motor. Then again 20+ hours later the new motor died and they had to send me another one.

I am $2500 in debt for a machine that can't handle a seriously disabled person using it about 2 hours a week on low speed.

I am very upset with this situation. Yes, my motor is warrantied for 5 years but if I'm going to have to replace it every few months then there is a serious problem.

If you have never worked on a treadclimber then you missed out on the joy of trying to get the parts to fit together. I had to disassemble my machine at least 6 times and reassemble it again 6 times... stripping the screws and bolts leading to me having to take it all apart again to replace the hardware. It took 2 weeks to get it working after the first replacement. Now I have to replace it again.

Again, I can barely walk and my treadclimber can't keep up with me. Bowflex knows it is selling terrible equipment at stellar quality equipment prices. They are getting people into debt and leaving them with a lemon when they NEED and have paid for physical therapy.

I need a working treadmill just to try to start walking again. Now I have a $100 a month payment for something that I cannot use.

We NEED a class action lawsuit. We owe it to others to get this out into the open and keep them from going through the same pain and disappointment.

jewelzdevone2008(at)yahoo(dot)com


Click here to add your own comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex TreadClimber TC6000 - Cannot Live Up to the Hype

by Mrs. Tulp
(TX)

When my TC5000 died on me, I thought I would step up to a better model; therefore, I purchased a brand new in box-2008 Bowflex TreadClimber TC6000 in April 2008. It was delivered to my door on April 21, 2008.

Assembly was a challenge as the machine is tremendously heavy. I used it practically everyday because I love the idea of burning double the calories for half the time, and I must say, it does work.

Skip forward to August 4, 2008. Was about to complete my workout when the treddles shuddered and locked up. Over the course of 2 months, I had been smelling an electrical burning smell and the treddles were heating up enough to noticeably soften/melt the sole of my trainers.

Once during a workout, the TreadClimber TC6000 blew the circuit breaker. I will have to say, when I contacted Bowflex customer service, they were very easy to work with. They concluded that the motor had burned up (on a 3 month old machine!) and sent out a replacement motor.

Took over a week to receive (only one state away) and the electrical wires were severely damaged, so I improvised and used the existing wires.

Now with the installation of a new motor complete, thought I'd give it a try. Ten minutes into the workout, a noticeable smell developed and wafted into that old familiar burning electrical smell from before.

I did not get to finish my workout before the TC6000 blew the circuit breaker again. The awful smell permeated my house and there was a smokey haze in the air.

Did I mention this Bowflex treadmill is not even 4 months old yet and on it's SECOND motor already? I have sent another email to Nautilus requesting a replacement.

By the way, my TC5000 did the same thing as the Bowflex TreadClimber TC6000, however, I had purchased it used and I at least got a year of workouts from it before it went to Bowflex heaven!

Bowflex Treadclimber TC6000 - Started Having Problems at 4-6 Months (March 29/2009 Update)

Over the course of 2 years, I'm on my 3rd Bowflex TreadClimber -- 2 of which are TC6000's and both of those are/were less than 6 months old when I started having problems.

The first TC6000 I purchased new and after 4 mos. and 1 fried circuit board + 3 burned up motors later, Bowflex replaced it. I'm on my second TC6000 within a year and just yesterday, I had to replace the left strut because it had petered out leaving the treddles unbalanced to workout on.

I had parted the prior TC6000, so I didn't need to call Bowflex for the part. Not sure if that is even covered in the warranty. Geesh! This machine is barely 5 mos old!

I would really love to love this machine like I did in the beginning, but it is clearly demonstrating that it cannot live up to the hype. There is no way this machine could accomodate 5 users; it fails to accomodate only me!

I have concluded that if this unit dies on me like the other 2 did, and Bowflex does NOT replace it--as I've read in other reviews--then I will never purchase another product from Bowflex. After owning 3 of them in the past 2 years...my faith in them is a bit shaky.

Comments for Bowflex TreadClimber TC6000 - Cannot Live Up to the Hype

Click here to add your own comments

Motor problems or electrical supply problems?
by: Anonymous

I have to agree with the last anonymous commenter. It sounds like all the problems everyone is having with their motors burning-up is related to poor electrical supply problems.

It is amazing how many people don't read instructions provided with many high amp consuming machines and wonder why the motors burn up.

They assume it's faulty craftsmanship, but I think a lot of the problems could be attributed to plugging these machines into extension cords or older, substandard, lower gauge wiring found in many older homes where high amperage consuming devices were not commonly seen.

I personally have had my Treadclimber for the past four years and have used it 5x/week without a single problem. I have only done proper tread belt lubes and routinely vacuumed out all ventilation grills for the motor.

For those of you who are repeatedly burning-up these motors, check first that you don't have it plugged into an extension cord. Next, see how many devices, especially high amp devices, you have on the same circuit your using your Treadclimber on.

The older your home is, the more crucial this is. Just remember: If the motor's amperage is greater than what your providing it, the motor will heat up, melt the coating on the windings, and short the whole motor-out.

Even the cheapest Chinese motors generally last many years without problems, provided they receive proper electrical supply.

Shut Down Problems on TC5000
by: Oostburg Bert

TC5000, a few years old. Last season, new belts and (so called indestructible) bushings.

I weigh 165 lbs, always PREFER to go 4.0 full speed wearing a 22 pound weighted vest. Deck is always well lubed and adjusted correctly. No heat problems on the axials. PASSES cal test.

I start workout, about seven minutes later the machine stops. I thought it might be a heat problem, but my axials are cool. Let it rest for 5 minutes, restart unit, this time at 3.5MPH (turtle speed), this time it stopped after three minutes.

For the money I paid I'd expect the machine to run at least 50,000 miles before motor replacement. I'd estimate my machine only has 2,000 miles on it, cost over $1 per mile!! I'll never buy another overpriced Nautilus/Bowflex product.

I think it is a sensor problem, overheat, overspeed, over/under voltage??? My objective is to sweat, to fear the burn, and stairstep nonstop for 30 minutes at a time, and before today it was easy!!

Today my machine now won't allow that. I don't dare stairstep NO HANDS anymore (I love doing that), never know when the machine will sudden stop. Defective product.

Bowflex Shut Down Problem
by: k.h.

I have owned my Bowflex Treadclimber TC6000 for two years and it shut down. I called Bowflex and they had me run a calibration test but it failed. They told me my treadles were not lubricated enough even though I explained to them that they were smooth and slick. They suggested I spray the treadles with silicon and re-run the calibration test.

After running the test several times I called Bowflex again and they told me to keep spraying the silicon over and over because it would take time to sink in to the decks. I let it sit overnight and then re-ran the calibration. Each time the calibration failed.

I called back and they told me it was my problem and that I needed a new motor. And after reading the problems others have had I can see that it is the quality or lack thereof that is the problem.

I owned a Lifecycle prior to this and NEVER had any problems or had to make any repairs! I'm going back to the Lifecycle.

Bowflex TC5000 Issues
by: Gary

I too have experienced a wealth of issues with my older TC5000. This machine was originally a Nautilus purchase before Bowflex took control.

In the 1st year or so, no real issues. After the 1st year, however, I had to replace the entire treadle system, belts and all. To Bowflexs' credit, the customer service was great and not only did they ship out the treadles, they sent someone to perform the repair.

Not long after that, the electronics on the head console went out. Another call to customer service, still under warranty and they shipped me out a brand new console. This one bore the Bowflex insignia. I did the repair myself and it was a bit tricky, but doable by most people who are moderately handy.

Fast forward about 6 years later. The machine started to skip and slow down after running at full speed and subsequently began failing calibration tests. Upon calling the tech people, and there are some good and some real novices, they begin the troubleshooting phase.

They tell me "sounds like the wiring may be bad". I pay for new wiring harnesses, hook them up, and still have the same result, machine has all the right indicator lights on, but the belts won't move.

Another call to tech service. This time they tell me I need to replace the belts and decks at a cost of about $150. This was by far the most complicated and poorly documented instruction set that I ever saw. They even left out a step that would have facilitated the repair.

At any rate, to effect the belt/deck repair, you must take apart at least 80% of the machine, from the console, to the handlebars, all the way down to the plastic skins that cover the outside of the treadles. Just put all of the hardware, bolts, nuts and screw in a baggie so they don't get lost.

By far, the hardest part of this repair is getting the belt off and back on to the motor and drive wheel. I needed a prybar to push the motor far enough forward to get the belt back in place.

Anyway, after I completed the repair, the machine still fails calibration and needs a prime of the treadle belts to get the motor running. Once it starts, it runs fine up to 4.0 mph but fails calibration.

Next call to the techies tells me I must replace the motor. Beware, repairs on this machine are not for the non-mechanically inclined. I am insisting on Bowflex sending me the motor replacement instructions before I even begin any more activity on this machine.

I have the same problem with the Bowflex TreadClimber
by: Alex Jr.

I loved the anonymous reply about electrical problems, likely a Bowflex customer service rep.

I am here to tell the previous writer that I have had an almost identical experience, but the good news is I didn't buy a second machine, after replacing about 4 or 5 motors in the TC5000 (using their authorized service rep at $100 a pop) they agreed to send me a new TC6000.

The new machine has less than 200 miles on it and I am having an identical experience with it (burning smell permeating my home) it seems to me if you use the machine 3 times a week for 20 minutes it should be fine but with not only both the machines I have had and the multiple motors in the first one, in each instance when my workout exceeded 30 minutes the smell would start to permeate the house, even with my high powered commercial fan circulating air the smell is painfully evident.

I started my workouts on a conventional treadmill in late 2003 and transitioned to the Bowflex Treadclimber in 2007 due to leg joint and feet injuries due to the high impact of the conventional machine which my MD suggested.

Initially I thought I had a lemon in my first machine, it really is an effective workout, too bad it can't take my workouts. I too like the payoff of double the calories burnt in half the time and was a totally dedicated user and supporter of the equipment but their customer service stinks; they make their living selling their equipment to people who never actually use it.

If you really want to buy one of these don't make the mistake I did of paying for it all up front, take their lifetime payment plan then at least you can threaten to stop making payments so they will service it or repair it, cause when you pay them up front you don't have any leverage and they will drag their feet and screw around which totally messes up your workout schedule and you end up starting all over again, its very frustrating. Too bad its a good idea that just doesn't work.

TC6000-Start having problems at 4-6 mos.
by: Mrs. Tulp

Over the course of 2 years, I'm on my 3rd Bowflex TreadClimber--2 of which are TC6000's and both of those are/were less than 6 mos old when I started having problems. The first TC6000 I purchased new and after 4 mos. and 1 fried circuit board + 3 burned up motors later, Bowflex replaced it. I'm on my second TC6000 within a year and just yesterday, I had to replace the left strut because it had petered out leaving the treddles unbalanced to workout on. I had parted the prior TC6000, so I didn't need to call Bowflex for the part. Not sure if that is even covered in the warranty. Geesh! This machine is barely 5 mos old!

I would really love to love this machine like I did in the beginning, but it is clearly demonstrating that it cannot live up to the hype. There is no way this machine could accomodate 5 users; it fails to accomodate only me!

I have concluded that if this unit dies on me like the other 2 did, and Bowflex does NOT replace it--as I've read in other reviews--then I will never purchase another product from Bowflex. After owning 3 of them in the past 2 years...my faith in them is a bit shaky.

TC 6000
by: Anonymous

It sounds to me like you have an electrical problem not a Bowflex problem.

Click here to add your own comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex TC6000 - Another Machine with Motors Burning Out

by Alex J. MacRae
(Burlington, ON, Canada)

I experienced similar results as Mrs Tulp of Texas. I purchased my first Bowflex, a TC5300. I was upgrading from a conventional treadmill which was causing damage to my lower extremities due to the vigorous nature of my workouts.

Once I got the machine assembled, which was a bit of a challenge, I found the machine to be the Cadillac of exercise equipment; I literally became addicted to the machine with shorter workouts, lower impact, and higher calorie burn rates, it really delivered.

Once I became accustomed to the machine and really started to put some pressure on the machine I started to get a burning smell. I continued my vigorous workouts and eventually there was literally a pall of smoke in the room from the burning which I initially thought was one of the belts rubbing. I was to find out that the problem was the motor.

This is where my problems began with Nautilus and Bowflex. A replacment motor was dispatched but was delayed due to the company repositioning one of their depots. I arranged for the authorized service rep to install the motor paying him out of my own pocket as the company claimed that my labour warranty was only one year.

This guy was terrific, we ended up replacing about 5 motors before he was able to convince the company that he felt I had received a lemon and they should replace the entire unit.

Nice. The new unit, a Bowflex TC6000 arrived in January of 2009 and the service guy was on hand, to dissassemble the old one which the trucking company was taking away and unpack and assemble the new unit, sweet!

He really made it look easy putting it together and I was sure that I was on my way to reaching my fitness goals with what I considered the best piece of equipment on the market.

It takes a while to get back into the swing and rythm of the machine, and it was tremendously dissappointing to find that the new machine acted exactly the same way as the last machine.

I am getting a heavy burning smell coming from the motor with a little over 200 miles on the machine which is 9 months old. It seems to me that when you use the machine in accordance with their infomercial (20 minutes a day, 3 times a week) you should be good to go, but when I get into the rythm, I will go 40 minutes or so at 4 mph, the smell becomes noticeable at around the 25-30 minute mark.

I have tried changing my routine and even messed around with the piston settings trying to get the smell to go away but to no avail.

I am writing this as I have contacted my rep at the company asking for a replacement motor so I can have one on hand to install when the current motor dies but they are refusing to provide another motor until the one in the machine bites the dust.

It's a true shame that a machine with such potential and so many benefits seems to be underpowered. I am not the only Bowflex TreadClimber owner with this experience. Draw your own conclusions from my experiences; I am frustrated and will continue to request new motors until my 5 year warranty expires, then will look for a different piece of equipment to exercise on.

Click here to post comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex TC6000 - Part 2

by Alex J. MacRae
(Burlington, ON, Canada)

I contacted Bowflex in september to request another motor as I knew that the TC6000 was on its last legs.

I had gone through this process about 5 times on my TC5300 so I had some insight.

I received an e-mail from customer service while I was vacationing with my kids. "Sorry we can't supply you with another motor as you have a functioning motor", was their reply.

Infuriated I shot back an e-mail conmplaining that they seemed determined to have me not exercise rather than provide me with the parts to continue my exercise program. I had been a cheerleader of their equipment because it was so much better than coventional treadmills until these problems cropped up.

The motor bit the dust last night (Oct. 15th). I fired off an e-mail giving them the good news. Amazingly I got a call from customer service today asking what they could do. I told them to give me back half my money, they could have their defective machine back and I would move on.

Well, that's not gonna happen, was the reply (it was expected). So I said well send me another motor as another rep had inidcated in an e-mail that the motor would only be replaced when the old one was dead. Incredibily (but not surprisingly) this guy says to me well I can't send you out another motor until it is ok'd by a supervisor!

Wow, so much for a 5 year warranty! They blame me for the first machine (shipped May 2007) getting trashed by their trucking company, but they did send me a replacement. By the time I needed my first motor in August of 2008 they told me I was out of warranty even though I had only had the machine since Sept. 2007 because the first machine was shipped in May 2007.

So far I have paid their service guy about $600 cash to replace the motors and also to tear down the TC5300 and assemble the TC6000 in January when the new one arrived.

I gave him a call to let him know I would want a service call to install the new motor when it arrives and he said that Bowflex had pulled all their commercial machines out of the gyms. Seems they all had the same defect as us other poor suckers are stuck with, motors burning up, hmmm? If they keep marketing this thing it should build a strong case for a lawsuit I think.

If you are serious about exercising and want a reliable piece of equipment and some customer service that's not laughable at best, do yourself a favour and don't buy anything from Bowflex or Nautilus.

They really drop the ball when it comes to this. I have spent more time waiting to hear back on problems and replacement parts than I have exercising.

My original machine clocked 1600 miles in 4 years then was passed on to a family member and is still at work 6 years after it was originally bought. I am on my 2nd treadclimber and 6th motor or so in 14 months, don't waste your time on Bowflex.

Comments for Bowflex TC6000 - Part 2

Click here to add your own comments

THANK YOU
by: Anonymous

Thank you all for saving me much much money!!!

Click here to add your own comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex TC6000 - "BAD CHOICE"

by Dr. John
(Fort Lauderdale, Florida)

I too purchased a Bowflex TreadClimber TC6000 treadmill, which was supposed to be the best machine available, along with the revolution home gym and the free weights all produced by Bowflex. With all of the assessories and everything that I bought I spent close to $10,000.

Although the free weights and the home gym continue to function as advertised, the TC6000 is literally a piece of junk.

I had to purchase a new motor as the original one burnt out in less than a year, and then the right deck, which fits under the tread to provide support, melted in spite of the fact that I used graphite spray religiously as stipulated in the Bowflex tread climber assembly guide and owner's manual.

My frustration was that the right and left decks are not available and Bowflex has ceased to support the machine with repair parts.

If you need a good cardio machine I would highly recommend going to www.landice.com and look at their elliptical machine. It's a little more expensive, but it has a lifetime warranty on parts and is the same as their commercial unit but because it's recommended for the home they give it a lifetime warranty.

I'm currently saving my nickels and dimes to buy a Landice elliptical as I have researched it the way I should've researched the Bowflex prior to buying it and didn't.

Now that I've wasted a significant amount of money I've done my homework and Bowflex is not the way to go!!

Comments for Bowflex TC6000 - "BAD CHOICE"

Click here to add your own comments

Pay good money for BS, way to go Blo Flex!
by: mr curious

I thank you for all the true reviews. It is truly a shame that a company can market and sell inferior products to people who only want to improve there health.

As soon as you pay the bill, the BS starts. There is NO consumer protection for individuals who want a good product.

I will NOT be buying a Bowflex Treadmill EVER.I am sorry for all the people that had to endure this runaround.

All the hype and infomercials just cant seem to overide the poor materials and No Customer Service.

Very very happy with my Treadclimber
by: Anonymous

My treadclimber is the best machine I've ever used!!!!

I use it 4 times a week for 30 minutes and my body has never looked better!!

Was very nervous about spending so much money but now I can say it was the best money I ever spent!!

Give it a chance you will not be sorry.

Thank You!
by: Tom

I almost bought one used one from Craigslist, wife all hipped from infomercial. Glad I read the reviews, no way will I buy their junk.

Thank You
by: Anonymous

I want to thank you for all of your reviews on this product. I was contemplating a purchase of a machine and wondered if all the hype was true, of course I wanted it to be, but even at that, the customer service sounds like gimmicky add ons. THANK YOU FOR SAVING ME MONEY AND BUYERS REMORSE!!

Bowflex Treadclimber TC3000 Motor & Motor Controller Problem
by: Anonymous

I have had a TC3000 for about two years. I really like the workout I get with it but have had several repairs. The drive motor failed after 1 year. Bowflex sent me a replacement motor. One of the struts also failed leaking an oily substance all over the carpet. The most recent failure is the motor control board. They charged me $196.00 for the board but told me they are out of stock and won't be able to ship for close to 3 months. Do yourself a favor and do not buy these products. They are too unreliable and too much of a hassle to service yourself.

No Order
by: De

Thank you to all of you who commented on the Bowflex. I was just about to order one online then decided to read the reviews....sure glad I did. I won't take a chance on this machine. I wonder if all the Bowflex machines are junk...not taking a chance. Again...THANKS TO EVERYONE!!

Thanks for the reviews!
by: Jomel

I am so glad that I took the time to read up on the Bowflex TreadClimber as I was going to take the plunge and order it. The commercials are so compelling -- it looks great on TV. Thanks to all of you who took the time to write about your negative experiences to help out other unsuspecting consumers. I definitely will not be ordering this machine!

More Than Just a Lemon, its a Accident Waiting to Happen
by: Jonah

I'm sorry to say that I've had all of the same experiences and issues with my Bowflex TreadClimber TC6000 since I purchased it in April 2008.

For the majority of the significant warranty period it got very little use so of course I had no troubles, but after loosing a significant amount of weight on a long business trip (using commercial tredmills in hotels) I was ready to go on my return after loosing 30 lbs while travelling and that's when my troubles began.

After a few weeks of regular usage I noticed the significant burning of wiring smell that others have metioned and while not wanting to stop the pace that I had set while travelling tried to work through the smells that filled the room (and house) with toxic smoke on multiple occasions. I replaced the motor about five (5) times now and replaced the belts and baseboards (don't do this if it's not the problem and a lot of work).

Now after my fifth motor I can see that the motor just can't handle a large workout or the weight of most men (200 lbs or above) who really need to use it. When I even try to use it at a speed of 3.0 or above it drags to a stop and periodically stops and starts at random. My wife at about 100 lbs lighter than me seems to have no issues.

I recommend to anyone who has bought a TreadClimber to just cut their losses and buy youself a basic commercial grade tredmill (that's what I'm going to do). The funny thing is that I replaced a dependable old tredmill that never had a problem with the TC6000 - a lesson learned!

Thank you
by: Deborah

I was very seriously considering purchasing this machine....Thank you so very much for your feedback. I have come to the conclusion that there is an electrical problem/manufacturing defect with this product.

Best,
Deborah

Bowflex Treadclimber
by: Anonymous

Thank you everyone....I was seriously considering buying the TreadClimber until reading all of the posts. Obviously Bowflex doesn't wish to improve the errors with this machine. I will not be purchasing this machine at all. Thanks for saving me so much money. I will continue to use my treadmill (not a Bowflex) and be happy. I've had it for years without any problems.

Click here to add your own comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex TreadClimber TC5000 Cracked Treadles

by Kevin Hobart
(S. Amherst, OH)

Bought a Bowflex TreadClimber TC5000 two years ago, had it about 2 months, than noticed the plastic on the treadles were getting cracks. Called Bowflex, they sent out new treadles, 1 year later there are cracks in this set of treadles. Will never buy Bowflex again.

Click here to post comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex Treadclimber Marketing Hype

by Tina
(Austin, Texas)

I purchased a Bowflex TreadClimber almost 2 years ago hoping it would deliver the results (or even some of the results) the product promises in its advertising.

While I know there is always exaggeration in commercial advertisements, I can't tell you how disappointed I've been with the TreadClimber purchase. I use my TreadClimber faithfully (much more than the advertised 3 times per week for only 30 minutes).

I am usually on it 4-5 times per week (some weeks even more). I started at the suggested 30 minutes but have even increased my time from 30 minutes to 45 minutes per session hoping (just by some chance) for better results.

I still have not come close to achieving the results I saw advertised when I purchased my machine or that I recently saw in a commercial for the Bowflex TreadClimber a few days ago. In 2 years (and this is along with a diet regimen...just in case you might think I eat away all the positive affects the machine has to offer)

I have lost a whopping 6 pounds....that's it, 6 pounds.....not the 4 or 5 dress sizes or the 30-40 pounds or the leaner, swimsuit ready body, or the body I haven't had since high school.....6 pounds!!!!!

While I know there is always hype in advertising and that in the small print at the bottom of the TV that no one (not even with their reading glasses) can catch and read, I feel that Bowflex needs to take a look at what they are promising to sell their product.

I am getting no better results than if I went outside and walked in my neighborhood, and believe me it would have been a lot easier on the pocketbook (if I had decided on the outside option)!!!!

This is one product I cannot recommend to my friends....at least not over any other machine out there, especially with the hefty price tag that accompanies it.

Click here to post comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

Bowflex BXT216 Treadmill Not So Great

by Joe
(Portland, OR)

We've had a decent treadmill we got used and, having practically worn it out, decided to upgrade so bought this Bowflex new. We should have done more homework. It was a mistake.

The belt and deck are great. And it's very quiet. But it's like the rest of it was designed by someone who doesn't actually walk or run. My wife likes to walk, my kids and I like to run. None of us are pleased. Here are our complaints.

Speed is only in mph, not pace. Pace is the most common way to measure running speed. How can it not show pace???

The smallest display increment for distance is tenths of a mile. So, you walk for a while with no feedback on how far you've gone.

Speed changes are slow. If you like to go from, say, 4 mph to 7 mph, it'll take a bit. Minimum incline is 1.0
Quick Speed selector buttons are in awkward increments: 1,3,6,9,10,12?
Incline buttons are also at awkward increments
Speed and incline buttons require verification, not a quick one touch.
Bluetooth ONLY does connectivity for the app. No music. No connecting to apps via Bluetooth.
No volume control for the music you play by plugging your phone into a wire
Heart rate grips do not work
No indicator for fan speed

I may return this thing, if I can figure out a way to do so. It weighs a TON!

Click here to post comments

Start a new discussion with your own Treadmill Consumer Reviews.

UPDATE: Black Friday/Cyber Monday Treadmill Sales are on!

 SEE THE BEST CURRENT DEALS HERE


Best Treadmills 2017

Best By Price
Cheap
Under $500

$500-$1000
$1000-$2000
$2000-$3000
$3000-$4000+


Best By Type

Best Overall
Best For Walkers
Best For Runners
Best Incline
Best Folding
Best Manual


Consumer Reviews

Treadmill Consumer Ratings

Rave or rant about the treadmill you bought or used at the fitness center. Read reviews submitted by others.